Skip to main content

Classics

Reference Guide


 

 

Selected List with Short Citations

Dictionaries, Lexicography, etc.:
GREEK:
BS2350.B356 1979 (Bauer) Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament
PA422.C46
(Chantraine) Dictionnaire étymologique de la langue grecque
PA4209.C901
(Cunliffe) A Lexicon of the Homeric Dialect
CS2349.L480
(Fraser, Matthews) A Lexicon of Greek Personal Names
PA422.F9
(Frisk) Griechisches etymologisches Wörterbuch
PA445.G3L67 Lexikon des frühgriechischen Epos
PA445.E5L824
(Liddell, Scott, Jones) Greek-English Lexicon Web Version
P1035.M87
(Morpurgo) Mycenaeae Graecitatis Lexicon
CS2349.O83 1996
(Osborne) The Foreign Residents of Athens: An Annex to the Lexicon of Greek Personal Names: Attica
PA429.S36 1967
(Schmidt) Synonymik der griechischen Sprache
CS2349.S58 1982
(Solin) Die Griechischen Personennamen in Rom
PA445.E5W6
(Woodhouse) English-Greek Dictionary Web Version

LATIN:
BS2350.B356 1979
(Bauer) A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature
PA2931.D83
(Du Cange) Glossarium Mediae et Infimae Latinitatis
PA2365.F8E704
(Ernout, Meillet) Dictionnaire étymologique de la langue latine
PA8081.H68 2006
(Hoven) Lexique de la prose latine de la Renaissance = Dictionary of Renaissance Latin from Prose Sources
PA2891.L35
(Latham) Revised Medieval Latin Word-List from British and Irish Sources
PA2365.E5A71
(Lewis and Short) Latin Dictionary Web Version
PA2365.E5095
Oxford Latin Dictionary
PA2361.T4
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
PA2342.W27
(Walde) Lateinisches etymologisches Wörterbuch

Modern Language Dictionaries (French, German, etc.) under call numbers from PC to PF, Modern Greek - PA1139.

Grammars, etc.:

GREEK:
 
PA502.B881
(Buck) The Greek Dialects
PA351.D381
(Denniston) The Greek Particles
PA401.D4
(Denniston) The Greek Prose Style
PA337.G765
(Goodwin) Syntax of Greek Moods and Tenses
PA258.G689
(Goodwin and Gulick) Greek Grammar
P1035.H72 1980
(Hooker) Linear B: An Introduction
PA255.K9
(Kühner, Gerth) Ausfuhrliche Grammatik der griechischen Sprache
PA31.H24 v.2 pt.1-2
(Schwyzer) Griechische Grammatik (in Handbuch)
PA258.S62
(Smyth) Greek Grammar Web Version
PA2619.A40 1987
Vox Graeca

LATIN:
PA2087.A451
(Allen, Greenough) New Latin Grammar
PA2087.H181
(Buck, Hale) A Latin Grammar
PA2087.G5454
(Gildersleeve, Lodge) Latin Grammar
PA2619.G811
(Grandgent) An Introduction to Vulgar Latin
PA2133.N5 1985
(Neue, Wagner) Formenlehre der lateinischen Sprache
PA2813.N81
(Norberg) Manuel pratique de latin médiéval
PA2117.A43 1978
Vox Latina

COMPARATIVE:
PA111.B88
(Buck) Comparative Grammar of Greek and Latin
PA111.S540 1995
(Sihler) New Comparative Grammar of Greek and Latin

Meter:
PA411.R25
(Raven) Greek Metre
PA267.A40 1987 Vox Graeca
PA2117.A43 1978
Vox Latina

Texts, Concordances, and Commentaries of Greek and Latin Authors:
PA3611-12
Loeb Classical Library Series (Texts with English Translations)
PA3800-5300
Standard Texts of Various Greek Authors (shelved alphabetically)
PA6200-8500
Standard Texts of Various Latin Authors (shelved alphabetically)
PA3200-3500
Collections of Greek Authors precede the alphabetical sequence.
PA6100-6200
Collections of Latin Authors precede the alphabetical sequence.

Texts and Collections outside these call number ranges:
Note: for inscriptions see below under Epigraphy.
 
BR60.C8
Corpus Scriptorum Ecclesiasticorum Latinorum
PA2510.A2 1874
Fragments and Specimens of Early Latin (Arvales fratres)
 
PA25.S875 v.28
Mela De chorographia
DD3.M81
Monumenta Germaniae Historica: Auctores Antiquissimi
DD3.M8
Monumenta Germaniae Historica: 
DG88.C65
(Pharr) The Theodosian Code

Epigraphy:
Note: collections of local inscriptions are not listed separately if classed in CN. Also check excavation reports for various regions.

REFERENCE:
PA2391.C75
The Prae-Italic Dialects of Italy
CN380.A8T729 2003
(Tracy) Athens and Macedon: Attic Letter-Cutters of 300 to 229 B.C.
CN350.W650 1992 Gen (Woodhead) The Study of Greek Inscriptions

GREEK CORPORA:
 
DF261.D35P31
(Parke, Wormell) The Delphic Oracle
DF261.D35F60
(Fontenrose) The Delphic Oracle: Its Responses and Operations
PA3457.K2
(Kaibel) Epigrammata Graeca ex Lapidibus Conlecta
CN360.S450 1989
(Meiggs, Lewis) A Selection of Greek Historical Inscriptions to the End of the 5th Century B.C.
DF209.5.T632
2nd ed. vol. 1
P1035.V46 1973
(Ventris, Chadwick) Documents in Mycenaean Greek

LATIN CORPORA:
 
fCN520.C6
Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum (CIL)
PA3611.W302 (Warmington) Remains of Old Latin

Papyrology:
PA3319.A7M91
Acta Alexandrinorum. De mortibus Alexandriae nobilium fragmenta papyracea graeca
 
WWW APIS (Advanced Papyrological Information System)
Z113.8.B24
(Barbour) Greek Literary Hands A.D. 400-1600
 WWW
 
hecklist of Editions of Greek, Latin, Demotic, and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca, and Tablets
PA3341.G851
(Mitteis-Wilcken) Grundzüge und Chrestomathie der Papyruskunde
WWW Heidelberger Gesamtverzeichnis der griechischen Papyrusurkunden aus Ägypten
WWW Leuven Homepage of Papyrus Collection
PA449.P92 1967
(Preisigke) Namenbuch enthaltend alle griechischen, lateinischen, ägyptischen, hebräischen, arabischen ...
 
 WWW Prosopographia Ptolemaica
Z114.R64 MSR (Roberts) Greek Literary Hands, 350 B. C.-A. D. 400 (GLH)
PA25.L841 no. 46 Gen;
(Turner) Greek Manuscripts of the Ancient World
 
WWW WörterListen

Non-Textual Collections:
 
CJ335.H44
(Head) Historia Numorum: A Manual of Greek Numismatics
CJ969.M44
Roman Imperial Coinage

Bibliographic Reference Works:
CN1.A6 RR4Cla L'Année épigraphique
Z7016.A1A6
 L'Année philologique (APh)
WWW L'Année philologique on the Internet
CC27.D482
Archäologische Bibliographie (electronic DYABOLA)
PA34.F5P86 (Poschl et al.) Bibliographie zur antiken Bildersprache
Z6203.P201
(Boyce) Literature of Medieval History
PA1003.B9
Byzantinische Zeitschrift (Building Use Only)
Z6207.C65H340 1986
(Halton, O'Leary) Classical Scholarship: An Annotated Bibliography

Database of Classical Bibliography (DCB)  L'Année philologique on the Internet
PA99.W44 2003 (Wellington) Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines
 
Z7016.E57   (Engelmann) Bibliotheca Scriptorum Classicorum (1700-1878)
DE2.I6 Fasti Archaeologici
PA74.P72
Fifty Years (& Twelve) of Classical Scholarship
Z6203.I6
International Medieval Bibliography Online
Z7016.L25   (Lambrino) Bibliographie de l'antiquité classique (1896-1914)
Z7016.A1L94 Lustrum: Internat. Forschungsber. aus dem Bereich des klass. Altertums
Z7016.M35 
(Marouzeau) Dix années de bibliographie classique (1914-1924)
Z6203.P871
(Potthast) Bibliotheca Historiae Medii Aevi
Z5937.R42
Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie (1910-1989). Continued in Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) on Eureka
Z6203.R41
Repertorium Fontium Historiae Medii Aevi . . .
Z7021.B470
(Berkowitz) Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Canon of Greek Authors
WWW TOCS-IN: Contents of Selected Classics Journals

Encyclopedias and Handbooks (not Restricted to Specific Subjects):
DS62.23.K870 1995 (Kuhrt) The Ancient Near East: c. 3000-330 BC
D57.C24
Cambridge Ancient History
D117.C321
Cambridge Medieval History
DS57.C550 1995
(Sasson) Civilizations of the Ancient Near East
D114.D50 1982
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
AE5.E366 RR4 (paper) Encyclopaedia Britannica (and electronic version on the Web)
DF16.E53 2000
(Speake) Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition
PA31.H24
Handbuch der Altertumswissenschaft (a multi-volume source)
DE1.P31 R Der Kleine Pauly
DE5.N48 1996
Der Neue Pauly
DE5.N4813 2002
(Brill's) New Pauly
DE5.O93 1970
Oxford Classical Dictionary, 2nd edition
DE5.O90 1996
Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd edition Web Version (look for the OCD in pull-down menu)
DF521.O930 1991
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
DE5.P33
(Pauly-Wissowa) Real-Encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft 
CC70.E2
Reallexikon der Vorgeschichte
DG76.S24
(Sandys) A Companion to Latin Studies
DF76.W531
(Whibley) A Companion to Greek Studies

Dictionaries, Histories, and Handbooks by Subject:

LITERATURE:
  Cambridge History of Classical Literature
PA3052.G79 I Greek Literature
PA6003.L35  II Latin Literature
PA31.H24 v.7 pt.2.1-2 (Christ) Geschichte der griechischen Literatur (in Handbuch)
PA3055.R7
(de Romilly) Précis de littérature grecque
  (Duff) A Literary History of Rome:
PA6003.D863 From the Origins to the Close of the Golden Age
PA6042.D857
In the Silver Age from Tiberius to Hadrian
PA3057.L635
(Lesky) A History of Greek Literature
PA31.H24 (Manitius) Geschichte der lateinischen Literatur des Mittelalters v.9 pt.2.1-3 RR4Cla (in Handbuch)
PA31.H24 (Schanz-Hosius) Geschichte der römischen Literatur bis zum v.8 pt.1-4 RR4Cla Gesetzgebungswerk des Kaisers Justinian (in Handbuch)

ART, RELIGION, AND PHILOSOPHY:
BL782.B921
(Burkert) Greek Religion
B171.C36 1999
Cambridge History of Hellenistic Philosophy
B171.A73 1970
Cambridge History of Later Greek and Early Medieval Philosophy
DF261.D35P31
(Parke, Wormell) The Delphic Oracle
DF261.D35F60 (Fontenrose) The Delphic Oracle: Its Responses and Operations
BR95.D48 1984
(Smith, Wace) Dictionary of Christian Biography
N31.E561
Enciclopedia dell'arte antica, classica e orientale
 
B163.E53 1997
(Zeyl) Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy
DE4.E50 1996
(Grummond) Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology
BL781.F18
(Farnell) Cults of the Greek States
BL782.G340 1993
(Gantz) Early Greek Myth: A Guide to Literary and Artistic Sources
B171.G92
(Guthrie) History of Greek Philosophy
BL31.E5
(Hastings) Encyclopaedia of Religion and Ethics
 
PA31.H24 abt.5 bd.4
(Latte) Römische Religionsgeschichte (in Handbuch)
 
 
B188.C35 1999
(Long) Cambridge Companion to Early Greek Philosophy
 
BR95.O8 Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
NX650.M9R450 1993
Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s
GR72.56.T480 1989
(Thompson) Motif-Index of Folk-Literature
BL820.J8C7
(Cook) Zeus: A Study in Ancient Religion

HISTORY, PROSOPOGRAPHY, AND LAW:
 
DF87.B7 Gen (Bonner, Smith) The Administration of Justice from Homer to Aristotle
DG83.5.B87
(Broughton) The Magistrates of the Roman Republic
D57.C24
Cambridge Ancient History
D117.C321
Cambridge Medieval History
CS738.A8D25
(Davies) Athenian Propertied Families
T15.F706
(Forbes) Studies in Ancient Technology
DF214.G877
(Grote) History of Greece
T15.S6
(Singer) A History of Technology
DG209.M744
(Mommsen) History of Rome

MAPS, GEOGRAPHY, AND TOPOGRAPHY:
fDT56.9.B340
(Baines and Malek) Atlas of Ancient Egypt
fDE71.B377 2000
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World
 
fDG77.C5970 1982
(Cornell, Matthews) Atlas of the Roman World
DG807.L36 1988
(Lanciani) Forma Urbis Romae
NA310.N257
(Nash) Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Rome
DG16.P72
(Platner, Ashby) A Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome Web Version
DE59.P88
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites
DF89.P92
(Pritchett) Studies in Ancient Greek Topography
DG68.R50 1992
(Richardson) A New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome
DS69.5.R630 1990
(Roaf) Cultural Atlas of Mesopotamia and the Ancient Near East
DE25.S67
(Smith) Dictionary of Greek and Roman Geography
 
G82.A84 1985
(Talbert) Atlas of Classical History
NA280.T78
(Traulos) Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Athens
fDE29.H61
(van der Heyden, Scullard) Atlas of the Classical World

HISTORY OF CLASSICAL SCHOLARSHIP:
 
PA74.P72
Fifty Years (& Twelve) of Classical Scholarship
PA51.S311
(Sandys) A History of Classical Scholarship
PA51.W661 (Wilamowitz-Moellendorff) History of Classical Scholarship

MANUSCRIPT TRADITIONS AND TEXTUAL CRITICISM:
Z113.8.B24
(Barbour) Greek Literary Hands A.D. 400-1600
Z114.G842
(Groningen) Short Manual of Greek Palaeography
PA47.H2 1972
(Hall) A Companion to Classical Texts
PA47.M204
(Maas) Textual Criticism
PA47.R40 1991
(Reynolds, Wilson) Scribes and Scholars
PA6004.T490
(Reynolds) Texts and Transmission: A Survey of the Latin Classics
Z114.T49
(Thompson) An Introduction to Greek and Latin Palaeography