Skip to main content

Geography and Environmental Sciences

Feature

US Names

Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
 Containing officially approved names from the US Board of Geographic Names (BGN), this is the most comprehensive US gazetteer. In general, it contains features that would be on the US Geological Survey 7½ minute (1:24,000 scale) topographic maps, both populated places and other cultural and natural geographic features.
GeoNames
Over 8 million placenames. Uses the GEOnet database for international locations, the GNIS database of US locations, and other sources. Integrates with Google Maps and other internet utilities. Allows download of large amounts of placename data for use, for instance, in GIS software.
TIGER U.S. Gazetteer
Online source containing names of populated places in the U.S. Census Bureau's database. Can also be located on the TIGER Map Server.  1990's vintage information.
Place Name Web Sites
From the Arizona State University Library.  U.S.A., world as a whole, and individual country online gazetteers.

Place Names

Alexandria Digital Library Gazeteer Server - This gazetteer contains place names for the entire World, including the United States. It is based on gazetteer information from a number of sources, including GEOnet and GNIS.

GEONET Name Server (GNS)  A comprehensive worldwide gazetteer based on the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) database. The level of detail varies, but entries usually contain features found on 1:250,000 to 1:1 million scale maps, both populated places and other cultural and natural geographic features (millions of names).  It does not include geographic names in the United States.

GeoNames  Over 8 million placenames. Uses the GEOnet database for international locations, the GNIS database of US locations, and other sources. Integrates with Google Maps and other internet utilities. Allows download of large amounts of placename data for use, for instance, in GIS software.

GeoNative - A site that deals with Minority and Native Language place names.

Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names - The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN) provides information on place names related to art, art history and related subjects, such as history archeology, and geography.

Global Gazetteer
"This is a directory of 2,880,532 of the world's cities and towns, sorted by country and linked to a map for each town. Presentation Copyright 1998 by Carl Rosenberg."  Countries are listed alphabetically by internet suffix, so search the page (<CTRL-F>) if you can't find what you need.  Shows latitude and longitude down to the degree level (no minutes or seconds).  One of the few sources to include elevation, in meters and feet.

J. Paul Getty Trust sponsors a database of place names worldwide.  With 900,000 entries, it is not nearly as extensive as the GEONET Name Server (above), but some records contain short informational blurbs about a place's historical, economic, and cultural significance.

Oddens' Bookmarks: Gazetteers  List of online gazetteers covering various levels of geography, from metropolitan areas to the entire world.

Place Name Web Sites  From the Arizona State University Library.  U.S.A., world as a whole, and individual country online gazetteers.
 

Project Perseus Atlas - Locate and plot sites related to the Greek world and the Mediterranean region. The atlas has drawings, digital elevation models, satellite images and three-dimensional topographic views.

Shtetl Seeker - Shtetl Seeker is a searchable database that provides information on the location of populated places in Eastern Europe, many of which no longer exist.

Thesaurus of Geographic Names

Other

Australian Geographic Place Names
Online search of the Gazetteer of Australia.
Canada's Geographical Names (Français)
Accesses over 500,000 geographical names in the Canadian Geographical Names Data Base (CGNDB), maintained by the Canadian Permanent Committee on Geographical Names (CPCGN).
Great Britain Ordnance Survey Place Name Gazetteer
Search database of 250,000 British place names, leading to a location map showing all-numeric coordinates in the British National Grid Reference System and a listing of all the maps sold by the Ordnance Survey that include that place.  A paper gazetteer covering the Landranger map series (1:50,000) is available in Map Collection Reference or in the Perkins/Bostock Reference department at DA640 .O736 1989.