Skip to main content

Geography and Environmental Sciences

Mapping and GIS Software Resources

Matt McCullough, Farmington City GIS.

Matt McCullough, Farmington City GIS.

On this page you will find links to software within the public domain, as well as,  to commercial software products. This page is not comprehensive, but rather, provides links to selective resources that are considered useful.

GEO Browsers

Google Earth lets you fly anywhere on Earth to view satellite imagery, maps, terrain, 3D buildings, from galaxies in outer space to the canyons of the ocean. You can explore rich geographical content, save your toured places, and share with others.

ArcGIS Explorer is a free, downloadable GIS viewer that gives you an easy way to explore, visualize, and share GIS information.

Popular Commercial Software Products

ArcGIS is an integrated collection of GIS software products that provides a standards-based platform for spatial analysis, data management, and mapping. ArcGIS is scalable and can be integrated with other enterprise systems such as work order management, business intelligence, and executive dashboards.

MapInfo Professional is a Microsoft® Windows®-based mapping and geographic analysis application.

ERDAS IMAGINE performs advanced remote sensing analysis and spatial modeling to create new information. In addition, with ERDAS IMAGINE, you can visualize your results in 2D, 3D, movies, and on cartographic quality map compositions.

IDRISI Taiga, an integrated GIS and Image Processing software solution, provides nearly 300 modules for the analysis and display of digital spatial information.

Manifold includes a world-class Internet Map Server (IMS), full object library and development environment to create custom applications and GIS-enabled web sites.

Commercial Software Companies

Leica Geosystems products and services help capture, analyze, and present spatial information. Leica Geosystems is best known for its broad array of products that capture accurately, model quickly, analyze easily, and visualize and present spatial information.

PCI Geomatics  is the developer of Geomatica®— complete and integrated desktop software that features remote sensing, digital photogrammetry, geospatial analysis, map production, mosaicking and automated product systems capabilities. Geomatica software enables users to apply imagery in support of a wide range of applications such as the environment, agriculture, security and intelligence, the aerospace and defense industries, and satellite receiving stations.

Open source GIS Software

Desktop GIS:

GRASS Geographic Resources Analysis Support System, commonly referred to as GRASS GIS, is a Geographic Information System (GIS) used for data management, image processing, graphics production, spatial modelling, and visualization of many types of data. It is Free (Libre) Software/Open Source released under GNU General Public License (GPL). GRASS is official project of the Open Source Geospatial Foundation.

SPRING is a state-of-the-art GIS and remote sensing image processing system with an object-oriented data model which provides for the integration of raster and vector data representations in a single environment.

uDig  Provides a complete Java solution for desktop GIS data access, editing, and viewing.

SAGA System for Automated Geoscientific Analyses, offers a comprehensive, growing set of geoscientific methods and is designed for an easy and effective implementation of spatial algorithms.

Quantum GIS (QGIS) is a user friendly Open Source Geographic Information System (GIS) licensed under the GNU General Public License. QGIS is an official project of the Open Source Geospatial Foundation (OSGeo). It runs on Linux, Unix, Mac OSX, and Windows and supports numerous vector, raster, and database formats and functionalities. Provides a continously growing number of capabilities provided by core functions and plugins. You can visualize, manage, edit, analyse data, and compose printable maps.

MapWindow is a free, extensible, geographic information system (GIS) that can be used as an alternative desktop GIS, to distribute data to others, and to develop and distribute custom spatial data analyses.

Web GIS:

MapServer is an Open Source platform for publishing spatial data and interactive mapping applications to the web.

Popular National Level Data

USGS, United States Geological Survey. An unbiased, multi-disciplinary science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water.

The Geospatial Data Gateway  from USDA, provides one stop shopping for natural resources or environmental data at anytime, from anywhere, to anyone. Allows you to choose your area of interest, browse and select data from our catalog, customize the format, and have it downloaded or shipped on CD or DVD.

NationalAtlas.gov from the Dept of the Interior, offers map maker software, downloadable raw data, printable maps, wall maps and other products.

Geodata.gov will help you find data or map servers, make a map, browse community information, cooperate on data acquisitions and publish your data and mape services.

Global Change Master Directory from NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center. A collection of more than 20,000 descriptions of Earth science data sets and services covering all aspects of Earth and environmental sciences.

ESRI Free-Data  Explore how you can make interactive maps and share them with others