Skip to main content

Intro to Research for Graduate Students

To help new graduate students get started with research at the Hunter Libraries.

Other Research Libraries

Research Libraries of the New York Public Library (NYPL)

Please note: When using the Research Libraries of the New York Public Libraries you will need to obtain an Access Card before looking at any material (these are non-circulating collections).  Click here for more information.

You can search the NYPL catalog (includes all branches and resarch libraries) at nypl.org. Research Libraries, locations and specialites are as follows:


NYPL, Mid-Manhattan Library
455 Fifth Avenue at 40th Street. 212-340-0864. 

-Education -Health Information -Art -Literature and Language
-History and Social Sciences

The following are not necessarily academic but may be helpful in other ways to your research.

-Job Information Center

-Picture Collection searchable at http://digital.nypl.org/mmpco/

-Project Access: Provides personalized accessibility services to individuals needing adaptive technologies to use library materials. A reference collection includes extensive titles on disability related issues.

NYPL, The Humanities and Social Science Library
476 Fifth Avenue at 42nd Street. 212-930-0830. 

The collections held at this library are extensive research collection: journals, books, newspapers, manuscripts, maps, etc.

-Anthropology -Mass Media Studies -Archaeology -Military History
-Book Arts -Religion -Geography -Latin American Studies
-Sociology -Jewish Studies -Map Collection -Slavic and Baltic Studies
-United States History, Local History, and Genealogy -Art & Architecture

NYPL, Library for the Performing Arts
40 Lincoln Center Plaza. 212-870-1630.

-Recorded Sound -Music and Orchestra -Drama -Dance
-Theater -Arts Administration

-This collection has a large volume of wide-ranging sound and visual materials on CD, Video, and DVD. Listening stations are available.
-Large collection of opera librettos.
-Large collection of musical scores.
-Significant collection of musicals, popular songs, and wedding music.
-Extensive clipping files of music and musicians.
-Plays and screenplays.
-Theater: scripts, production photos, movie stills, programs.
-14,000 videotapes and film for studying dance.

NYPL, The Science, Industry and Business Library
188 Madison Avenue at 34th Street. 212-592-7010.

Business: Advertising, Banks and Banking, Economics, Finance, Industrial Relations, International Trade, Labor, Management, Marketing, Personnel Management, Public Relations, Small Business, Statistics, Unions, Urban Affairs

Sciences: Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Sciences, Engineering, Environmental Science, Mathematics, Physics, Robotics

Industry: Aeronautics, Apparel, Biotechnology, Computer Industry, Construction,
Food Industry, Industrial Relations, Insurance, Real Estate, Telecommunications,
Textile Industry, Transportation

NYPL, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
515 Malcolm X Boulevard @ 135th Street. 212-491-2200.

Subject Strengths
-African, Caribbean and African American literature
-History of the Americas
-History of New York metropolitan area
-Harlem and Blacks in the performing and visual arts
-African American, Caribbean, and African newspapers

Digital Collections, http://www.nypl.org/research/sc/digital.html
-African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
-Images of African Americans from the 19th Century
-Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Books Division Finding Aids
-Studies Dedicated to Fernando Ortiz (1880-1969): A Bibliography of Afro-Cuban Culture


City Hall Library

31 Chambers Street--Room 112. 212 788-8590.

This reference center is the official depository for all reports published by New York City's agencies.

Collections of note include:
Biographies of city and state officials
Mayoral committees and commissions
New York City neighborhood files
New York City history
Annotated New York City street name index
Rules and regulations of New York City agencies
Civil service collection of job descriptions, previous examinations,
eligibility list and salary ranges for New York City positions
The annual Civil List of current New York City employees

The New York Historical Society
2 West 77th Street at Central Park West (212) 873-3400

One of the oldest independent research libraries in the U.S.  Collection includes:

Approximately 350,000 books and pamphlets
2 million manuscripts
10,000 newspaper titles
Prints, photographs, architectural drawings

Government Documents - Depositories
New York University - Bobst Library - 70 Washington Square South - (212) 998-2520
US from 1967 and United Nations from 1949

NYPL, Science, Industry, and Business Library - selective holdings as documents relate to the library's collection.

NYPL, Humanities and Social Sciences Library - selective holdings as documents relate to the library's collection.