Skip to main content

Intro to Research for Graduate Students

To help new graduate students get started with research at the Hunter Libraries.

Research Resources

Babbie, Earl R. The practice of social research, 11th ed.
   Hunter Reserve, 2nd Floor - H62 .B2 2007

  • This edition strengthens treatment of qualitative methods, with material on major paradigms used today, a new chapter on qualitative data analysis and combined presentation of conceptualization and operationalization.

 

Handbook of emergent methods
   Hunter Main Special Collection, 2nd floor H62 .H24536 2008

  • Sociologists Hesse-Biber (Boston College) and Leavy (Stonehill College, Easton, MA), who direct women's studies/gender studies programs, introduce innovative research methods geared to conducting qualitative studies of knowledge not part of the dominant culture or discourse.

 
  National Science Foundation - User-Friendly Handbook for Mixed Method Evaluations

  • A free, online guide from the National Science Foundation, this handbook is aimed at users who need practical rather than technically sophisticated advice about evaluation methodology. The main objective is to make Principal Investigators and Project Directors "evaluation smart" and to provide the knowledge needed for planning and managing useful evaluations.

  

Writing Resources

Ballenger, Bruce P. The curious researcher: a guide to writing research papers.

   Hunter Main Library Stacks - LB2369 .B246 2009

  • Offering a wide variety of examples from writers, this popular guide shows that good research and lively writing do not have to be mutually exclusive.  

Mauch, James E. Guide to the successful thesis and dissertation: A Handbook for Students and Faculty.

   Hunter Main - Library Stacks - LB2369 .M377 1993, also Hunter Health Professions and online via NetLibrary.

Levine, J. S. Writing and presenting your thesis and dissertation.

  • This free, online thesis guide is updated regularly by Professor Levine from Michigan State University.

Tutorials

Visit our How Do I? page for links to a variety of tutorials. You'll find tutorials on how to find books and articles, as well as tutorials on Google Scholar, citation styles, and bibliographic management systems.

Citation Resources

Style Guides and Bibliographic Management Tools

4th Floor (Wexler Library) Reference – ask at the Reference Desk for the most current editions of style manuals, including MLA, APA, and Chicago.

Hunter College Reading and Writing Center (RWC)

  • Located in Thomas Hunter Hall on the 4th Floor, the RWC provides comprehensive service for the entire college community, offering tutorial and computer-assisted instruction to students and technical support and development to faculty and staff.

 

The Hunter College Libraries Reference Guide to Style Manuals

  • A collection of links to information about various documentation styles

 

Click the Managing Your Research tab for information about bibliographic management tools.
 

Citation Machine

  • Citation Machine is designed to help student and professional researchers to properly credit the sources used. Its primary goal is to make it so easy for student researchers to cite their information sources.