Skip to main content

Intro to Research for Graduate Students

To help new graduate students get started with research at the Hunter Libraries.

What are Citation Management Tools?

Bibliographic Management software allows you to gather, organize and use the citations found during the research process.  Generally, when searching the web, databases, or catalogs, you can use such software to grab information from books, articles, journals, videos, and dvds and build your own databases of items for your research.

RefWorks

  • RefWorks is a web-based program that allows you to create your own personal database of references.
  • Users can import references from a search performed in an online database automatically, or enter references manually.  
  • RefWorks also interfaces directly with Word, making it easy to import citations and incorporate them into your writing as properly formatted footnotes or in-text citations according to the writing style of your choice (MLA, APA, and hundreds others).

RefWorks works best using the Internet Explorer Web browser.

Click here for RefWorks

Other Tools

Mendeley is a reference manager with some added features.  As a reference manager it allows you to create citation and bibliographies in using a variety of document creation platforms including Microsoft Word, OpenOffice and LaTeX.  In addition it provides a variety of other features including the ability to read and annotate pdfs within software, collect and organize pdfs, share your papers notes, and discover new papers, people to collaborate with and groups.  Mendeley's website.


Zotero is an easy to use citation manager.  It can help you collect, save, and organize a variety of resources.  The stable version is connected to a web browser (firefox).  It is designed to do research in the digital world, and can accurately sense the type of material being viewed.  Since it is open source there are a number of 3rd party tools associated with the application.  Zotero's website.

For more about Bibliographic Management Tools, see the Bibliographic Management subject guide.

What Is Right For Me?

Program Supported Web-based Desktop Based Collaborative Features Cost Open Source
EndNote YES PARTIAL YES PARTIAL Institutional  Supported Account NO
RefWorks YES YES NO PARTIAL Institutional  Supported Account NO
Mendeley YES PARTIAL YES YES Free, $4.99, $9.99  NO
Zotero YES PARTIAL YES YES Free YES

EndNote

  • Endnote is an online search tool that provides a way to search online bibliographic databases and retrieve the references directly into EndNote.
  • EndNote is a reference database storing, managing, and searching for bibliographic references in your private reference library. You can organize images-including charts, tables, figures, and equations, and assign each image its own caption and keywords.
  • EndNote is a bibliography and manuscript maker, formatting citations, figures, and tables in MS Word.

Click here for EndNote