Publicly Available Information Resources for OML
- Free Management Library"Online integrated library for personal, professional and organizational development"
- The Bridge Span Group"... a nonprofit advisor and resource for mission-driven organizations and philanthropists..." Publications section
- Charity VillageCanadian nonprofit news, jobs, funding, and training.
- Community Resource ExchangeTools, resources and publications for day-to-day management of nonprofit organizations.
- idealistNonprofit jobs, internships, volunteer opportunities and events
Newspapers & Magazines
Research Institutes and Think Tanks
"Think tanks are organizations that have significant autonomy from governmental interests and that synthesize, create, or disseminate information, ideas, or advice to the public, policymakers, other organizations, and the press."
Anderson, G. L. & Herr, K.G. (Eds) (2007). Think Tanks. In Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice. (Vol. 3, pp. 1369-1372). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Reference. Retrieved here.
Click on the link above to read the full article.
- Directories & Lists of Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
Evaluating Websites
As the saying goes, "you cannot judge a book by its cover". Likewise, one must look closely and with a critical eye at webpages in order to evaluate them for credibility, accuracy, currency, authority and bias. Here are some tools to help you create strategies for effectively evaluating website:
Library Databases
- Academic Search CompleteComprehensive, multi-disciplinary full-text periodicals database.
Vendor: Ebsco - Business Source CompleteFull text of over 2800 scholarly journals in business, economics, accounting and management.
Vendor: Ebsco - Foundation Directory OnlineDatabase for grant seekers with information on thousands of the largest private and community foundations, updated weekly.
- PAIS International & ArchivesIndex to journals, books, proceedings and other sources on the public and social policy literature.
Vendor: ProQuest - PivotFind funding information including grants, fellowships and internships in all academic disciplines.
- ProQuest Social Sciences Premium CollectionA collection of databases in the social sciences including Social Services Abstracts.
Vendor: Proquest - PsycInfoJournal articles and book chapters in the field of psychology.
Vendor: Ebsco - Social Sciences Full TextJournal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Vendor: Ebsco - Social Services AbstractsA small collection curated by the National Association of Social Workers from 1977 to present.
Vendor: Ebsco - SocINDEX with Full-TextComprehensive sociological research database.
Vendor: Ebsco - Urban Studies AbstractsAbstracts from journal articles, legislative groups, research institutions and public agencies on all aspects of urban studies.
Vendor: Ebsco
Ask-A-Librarian
Ask-A-Librarian
Get research and reference help 24 hours/7 days a week.
Chat with us
Email us
Call us (212)396-7654
Visit us
Schedule a research consultation
Go to the Ask-A-Librarian page for more information.