Background Reading
Subject holocaust, jewish (1939-1945) -- encyclopedias
- Dictionary of the Holocaust: Biography, Geography and Terminology
- The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust
- Encyclopedia of Genocide
- Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
- The encyclopedia of the Third Reich
- Encyclopedia of German resistance to the Nazi movement
- German foreign policy, 1918-1945 : a guide to research and research materials
- Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust
- History of the Holocaust: A Handbook and Dictionary
- The Holocaust Encyclopedia
- The Nazi era, 1919-1945 : a select bibliography of published works from the early roots to 1980
Reference Books
Hitler's Germany
Key Article Databases
Start here if you want to find scholarly articles on your topic in academic journals.
- Academic OneFile* provides access to some 11,000 journals with full-text articles from more than 4,000 peer-reviewed journals and reference sources worldwide. 1980 - present
- Academic Search Premier* is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study. 1975 - present
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index* is contained in the ISI Web of Science which provides access to the Science Citation Expanded® (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index® (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™ (1975-present). It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from some of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world
- Dissertations &Theses* includes more than 2.4 million entries for dissertations and theses in all subject areas from around the world. Provides abstracts for dissertations (July 1980-present); abstracts for master's theses (1988-present); and citations for dissertations dating from 1637. Nearly one million dissertations and theses are available for download in PDF format from ILL or use the same product at the CUNY Graduate Center.
- Google Scholar allows search for scholarly literature across a variety of disciplines and providers including academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar is freely searchable; use the Findit button for full-text (if available)
- Historical Abstracts Contains citations and abstracts to books and articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Humanities Abstracts covers citations and abstracts of 500 journals in the areas of archaeology, classics, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature, and religion. 1984 present
- Humanities International Complete includes all data from the American Humanities Index, plus more international content. Strongest coverage in literature and literary arts, but also includes journals in philosophy, theater, film, history, cultural and ethnic studies, archeology, music, dance, and multi-disciplinary humanities topics. Date coverage varies by journal, with some titles included back to 1929; some full-text
- JSTOR is an archive for academic journals. Articles are available as scanned versions of journal pages. Date Coverage Varies. A typical coverage range of a journal is the beginning of the journal until 5 years ago
- Literature Resource Center provides the full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline. Covers more than 100,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors
- MLA International Bibliography provides citations to research in literature, literary criticism, linguistics, modern languages, drama, folklore, film and video, and other communicative behavior. Covers American, English, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Yiddish, other European, Asian, African, and Latin American literature and folklore. 1926-present
- Project Muse covers e-journals covering the arts and humanities, social science, and mathematics. The journals are published by university presses, including the Duke University Press
- ATLA Religion Database provides over 1.2 million citations about all aspects of world religions. Also covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, religious perspectives on world history, theology, and the religious aspects of anthropology, ethics, philosophy, psychology, history, sociology, and law. 1949-present